top of page
  • Writer's pictureOyemike Winifred

IN THE POTTER'S HAND.


There are times when you might feel aimless and you can't seem to figure out where you belong. Life becomes so cruel and uncertain. It looks like your world has crashed and you are stuck underneath the fallen walls. It seems like everything and everyone is fighting against you, even the ones you expect to understand you are clueless. You just can't seem to get things right, when you think you are almost there or you've almost gotten it, everything fades away like a mirage and you just wonder

"is it really worth it?"

"Should I just give up and let go of even what seems like a tiny twig of hope that have kept me going all along?"

"Should I just throw caution to the wind and go my own way?"...

Worst still your heart, mind, soul, spirit and everything you have is screaming for help but no one seems to hear, then finally you ask this question:

"GOD WHERE ARE YOU? ".

Hmmm, Life is not a bed of roses says many people, life is full of so many uncertainties.

True, but for a Christian should it be this bad? What happens to the so many promises written all over the Bible? Why does it seem like things are working for the So called "Unbelievers" than it is for the believers? Unexpected happenings and situations attend our ways and it will so break us to the point in which we think we are not different from the popular "Humpty-Dumpty" in our nursery poem who had a great fall and couldn't be put back together again, we think that's all and the end has come...

HOLD ON, Let me remind you of a story... Here it goes:

(Jeremiah 18:1-6. The word which came to Jeremiah from the LORD, saying Arise, and go down to the potter's house, and there I will cause thee to hear my words.Then I went down to the potter's house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the wheels. And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it. Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying, O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? saith the LORD. Behold, as the clay is in the potter's hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel.

YOU ARE A CLAY IN THE HAND OF THE POTTER.

HE is making a MASTERPIECE out of you, whatever you are going through now is a process. Gold must need go through the fire for it to be truly refined, valuable and desirable.

God is working on you, you may not understand why you had to go through all you have, are or will ever go through, JUST BE CALM AND TRUST IN THE LORD, He has your Best interest at heart and very soon it will be ALL OVER and your mourning will turn to Dancing.

No wonder Job said this "Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him: On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him: But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold."..... It might seem like you can't find God around but never worry because HE has assured us in HIS word that "When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee."

HE is making a UNIQUE VESSEL that will bring forth Glory to HIS Name out of you, HE is painting Beauty with the ashes of your life and situation, be patient with HIM because HE is not done with you yet. "For ye have need of patience, that, after ye have done the will of God, ye might receive the promise. For yet a little while, and he that shall come will come, and will not tarry."....


A Songwriter once sang this song:


A vessel of honor, I'm longing to be

As clay to the potter, May I be to Thee.

You may have to break down resistance at times,

But Lord don't stop molding and shaping my life.


Shape me dear Father, please make me like You,

Mold me completely, so I can be true

And if You have to break me may I understand

You're still loving and molding my life in Your hands.


It would be such disservice resource would be nil

If clay rejects the potter and seeks it's own will.

It could be only cast out to the old potters field

Please don't cast me out Master, put me back on the wheel


Shape me dear Father, please make me like You,

Mold me completely, so I can be true

And if You have to break me may I understand

You're still loving and molding my life in Your hands.


Cheer Up!!! Don't ever forget that you are a clay in the Potter's Hand and HE is using your challenges and situations to bring out the Best in you.

So let this be our declaration:

"But now, O LORD, thou art our father; we are the clay, and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand."


SHALOM.


© Winnie

55 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

PEACE

Peace! Peace!! Peace!!! This is an inner rest of mind. It is an unexplained calmness a person experience in spite of troublous times It...

THE MYSTERY OF HONOUR.

The English dictionary defined "HONOUR" as these: "To think of highly, to respect highly; to show respect for; to recognise the...

1 Comment


amadijoseph479
Oct 10, 2020

Winnie, may the Lord strengthen and empower you and may the best he has for you manifest in the name of Jesus. Remain blessed.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page